I Still Believe in Fairy Tales

Untitled.001

We are living in perilous times. Every day we read about new atrocities happening around the globe and sometimes in our very own communities. The institutions and systems we once trusted in seem to be crumbling right before our eyes. And all the while, the sacred and true things that could shine as rays of hope in a dark world are mocked and degraded.

What we are left with is a culture that has become desensitized  and cynical.We live in a world where even the holiest of holies, the creator of all things, God Himself, is often treated like a fictional character and his Holy Word likened to fables.  Sadly this cynical and unbelieving attitude can also be found sitting on church pews and even behind pulpits. Our world has changed. Toto, we are not in Kansas anymore.

I saw as sign once that read, “You live what you really believe.” I wonder sometimes if we would live the way we do if we “really believed” what God’s word says. Do we really believe that God is a holy God and that he has clearly said that some things are sin. Have we even bothered to check and see what He has said about the hot button issues of our day like abortion, immorality, marriage, and homosexuality just to name a few? Have we become so jaded and cynical that we have downgraded our GOD to simply god. Do we still believe in an all powerful miracle working GOD that can do anything or have relegated Him to a fictional bearded old guy riding around on a cloud, oblivious and out of touch with mankind. Is the Bible still the book of all books, the sacred text, the very Word of God or just a cleverly concocted manuscript filled with entertaining stories and fables. If actions prove anything we would have to conclude that, to many it is all just a fairy tale.

Call me childlike in my faith if you will but I still believe that Adam and Eve had a good gig going on until they went to snacking on junk food. I still believe Noah built a big boat. I still believe the honeymoon wasn’t over for an old man and woman named Abe and Sarah. I still believe Moses wasn’t kidding. I still believe Samson was one “bad” dude. I still believe David proved that “the bigger they are the harder they fall.” I still believe that a teenage girl had a baby before she ever had sex. I still believe that baby could grow into a man and never sin. I still believe that man healed the sick, opened blind eyes, fed the hungry and raised the dead. I still believe that that man was beaten, mocked, spat upon and crucified. I still believe He died and they placed Him in a borrowed tomb and on the third day he arose and He is alive today! I believe this man’s name is Jesus and He is God. I still believe Jesus loves me.

I also believe a few other things that might seem strange to some. I believe that marriage is between a man and a woman. Marriage is meant to be for life. You should not have sex before you are married. Men should work. Friends should be faithful. You should always tell the truth. Honesty is not the best policy it is the only acceptable policy. I believe in freedom of choice. It is your choice to have sex or not. If you choose to have sex and you get pregnant you can choose the babies name. Then you can get busy being a mom and a dad. I believe human courts can’t overturn God’s decisions. I believe that Jesus is the only Savior of the world and he will forgive and save anyone who will call upon His name in faith.

Many today would say that I am unhinged and delusional, a simpleton living in an imaginary world, a world of fairy tales. If that is what people want to think of me than let me once and for all set the record straight.

I still believe in fairy tales.

1 Corinthians 1:18 (NLT)  The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God.

Leave a Reply

