I Love This… Bar???

man_at_bar-300x225Just a few miles down the road from my house is a little bar. It is not a restaurant/bar, it is a bar, a place that serves drinks for thirsty people. When I pass by this bar it is usually always packed. When I pass by churches they are usually not.

I wonder why the bars seem to have an easier time putting people on the barstool than we do in the pew. Is it just because they serve alcohol? Or, are the people frequenting the local bar actually looking for more than just a a strong drink. Perhaps the words to a popular country song by Toby Keith can give us some insight. Toby writes:

“I Love This Bar”

We got winners, we got losers

Chain smokers and boozers

And we got yuppies, we got bikers

We got thirsty hitchhikers

And the girls next door dress up like movie stars

 Hmm, hmm, hmm I love this bar

We got cowboys, we got truckers

Broken-hearted fools and suckers

And we got hustlers, we got fighters

Early birds and all-nighters

And the veterans talk about their battle scars

 I’ve seen short skirts, we got high-techs

Blue-collar boys and rednecks

And we got lovers, lots of lookers

And I’ve even seen dancing girls and hookers

[Chorus:]

I love this bar

It’s my kind of place

Just walkin’ through the front door

Puts a big smile on my face

It ain’t too far, come as you are

Hmm, hmm, hmm I love this bar

I’ve seen short skirts, we got high-techs

Blue-collar boys and rednecks

And we got lovers, lots of lookers

And I’ve even seen dancing girls and hookers

 What this song tells me is that the bar is perceived as a place where regardless of who you are, regardless of your station in life, regardless of your baggage or past mistakes you are welcome. It is a place where You can be honest about who you are including all the your warts and scars…and you will still be welcomed and accepted.

It occurred  to me that the church has allowed the local bar to steal our identity.

 Rev. 22:17 says, “And the Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let him that heareth say, Come. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.

 It seems that world is selling some things that we should be giving away freely…love, acceptance, a place to belong.

 My vision for Souls Refuge Church is to one day stand in the pulpit and look across the congregation and be able to say,

 “We got winners, we got losers

Chain smokers and boozers

And we got yuppies, we got bikers

We got thirsty hitchhikers

 We got cowboys, we got truckers

Broken-hearted fools and suckers

And we got hustlers, we got fighters

Early birds and all-nighters

And the veterans talk about their battle scars

 Blue-collar boys and rednecks

And we got lovers, lots of lookers

And I’ve even seen dancing girls and hookers”

 Each and every one accepted, each and every one loved and each and every one given the opportunity to come to know Christ and find a brand new life. Everyone offered a free drink from the water of life, Jesus.

I want everyone of them to walk out the front door of Souls Refuge Church singing…

I love this church

It’s my kind of place

Just walkin’ through the front door

Puts a big smile on my face

It ain’t too far, come as you are

Hmm, hmm, hmm I love this church

One comment

  1. Mommayne · August 9, 2013

    David and I both loved this! We watched it on your Red Couch Devo!

Leave a Reply

